Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

AMS Receives Governor’s Thomas Edison Award for Excellence in STEM Education

Ohio Academy of Science

Athens Middle School, with teachers Mary Ann Hopple, Ellen Kroutel, Stephanie List, Jonathan Sargent, Kimberly Shuster, April Stewart, and Nathan White, are recipients of the 2016 Governor’s Thomas Edison Award for Excellence in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) Education for the fifth consecutive year.  

The Governor’s Thomas Edison Award recognizes Ohio schools and teachers who stimulate student scientific research and technological design and extend opportunities beyond traditional classroom activities.  The school must hold a science fair that has at least 20 student participants, and students must participate in at least two other youth science opportunities, including District Science Day, State Science Day, and MathCounts, as well as other structured STEM-related youth activities.  “These schools and teachers push the boundaries of the traditional classroom by advising and mentoring student-originated research and other hands-on experiences,” said Michael E. Woytek, Ohio Academy of Science’s  Interim CEO.

Back to School News      Print News Article
Athens City School District  |  25 S. Plains Rd.  |  The Plains, OH 45780
Phone:740-797-4544  |  Fax:740-797-2486