Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Athens High School Athletic Boosters hold their annual Athletic Awards Banquet

 Outstanding Senior Athletes of the Year

Photo by: Trisha Smathers 

Athletes of the Year

Left to Right: Athens' Athletic Drector John Rogers, Sofie Dabelko, Peter Buckley, Athens High School Principal Dave Hanning 


Athens High School Athletic Boosters hosted their annual award ceremony at Elks Lodge in Athens on Sunday May 20, 2018, where they celebrated the success of the class of 2018.


As part of the event, keynote speaker Emily Deering from Ohio University’s cross country and track team shared an impactful and insightful  speech.


As Athens Athletic Boosters President April Stewart read off the names of all the senior athletes in attendance, they walked across the stage to get their senior athlete recognition award and pose for a picture with Athens High School principal David Hanning and Athens’ Athletic Director John Rogers.


The following awards were handed out:


Bob Finnearty Basketball Scholarship: This award is given to a senior athlete who has received at least two varsity letters in basketball and has conducted him or herself in a manner reflecting distinction to the school and the athletic program. Recipient: Dalton Cozart – Boys Basketball


PJ Lyons Memorial Award: PJ Lyons was an Outstanding Athlete Award winner who died in 1988 in an automobile accident. This award goes to a senior football or basketball player who displays courage and dedication toward athletics and who is respected among his peers. Recipient: Tanner Tritipo – Football


Vere Smith ‘ First step’ Athletic Award: This award is given annually to a senior student athlete chosen on the basis of dedication to excellence in athletics and willingness to work hard and whatever task is at hand. Recipient: Tyler McCune – Baseball


Frank Simpkins Memorial Award: This award establishes by former teammates of Frank Simpkins, a football and wrestling star at AHS who passed away in 1978. It is presented annually to a senior athlete who exemplifies the courage, dedication, team spirt, and leadership for which Frank Simpkins is remembered. Recipient: Devin Macy – Boys Wrestling


Thomas Eslocker Memorial Award:  Thomas Eslocker, a local and longtime supporter of Athens High School Athletics , passed away in the spring of 2014. Both of his children Avery and Asa, were involved in athletics at Athens High School. A scholarship for the top senior in Boys and Girls Tennis, as well as a top senior for softball was created in his memory.

Recipients: Bradly Ridpath II – Boys Tennis, Maddie Davis – Girls Tennis, Grace Pratt – Softball


The next two awards were both voted on by the varsity baseball team.

Robert “Mugsy” Mulligan Memorial Award: This award is in memory of Robert mulligan, a 1943 graduate of Athens High School. “Mugsy” a dedicated fan of all AHS sports, but he was especially devoted to baseball. This award is made to a senior member of the baseball team who plans to attend college. Recipient: Tyler McCune – Baseball


Larry Spaulding Memorial Award: This award is in memory of Larry Spaulding , a member of the AHS class of 1966, who was killed in action in Vietnam in 1969. Larry was an outstanding baseball player on a league championship team for Athens High school.

Recipient: Easton McCollum – Baseball


The next set of awards are a part of the Ohio High School Athletic Awards.


Archie Griffin Award: This award is presented each year to a male and female athlete who has been outstanding in their efforts to promote good sportsmanship in the community and school.


Recipient: Drew Zorn– Baseball/Boys Golf and Cierra Ellis - Girls Wrestling/ Volleyball


State Award for Sportsmanship, Ethics & Integrity:  This award is presented to the person who continually exemplifies good sportsmanship; is a positive role model for others; and supports and demonstrates positive values and has contributed to the well-being of the youth of the local high school.


Recipient: Rick Crossen “Officer Rick”


Jon Sparhawk Outstanding Senior Award: Each varsity coach selects a senior athlete for their sport.


Baseball: Easton McCollum

Boys Basketball: Dalton Cozart

Girls Basketball: Emmy Beck-Aden

Cheerleading: Madison Kottyan

Boys Cross Country: Peter Buckley

Girls Cross Country: Reba Shoup

Football: Easton McCollum

Boys Golf: Drew Zorn

Boys Soccer: Bradly Ridpath II

Girls Soccer: Maddie Davis

Softball: Brooklyn Sikorski

Boys Swimming: Martin Benecia Courreges

Girls Swimming: Sofie Dabelko

Boys Track: Peter Buckley

Girls Track: Sofie Dabelko

Boys Tennis: Yu-Shiang Jeng

Girls Tennis: Divya Yellamraju

Volleyball: Emma Hauschild

Boys Wrestling: Devin Macy

Girls Wrestling: Cierra Ellis



The final award was the Outstanding Senior Athlete of the Year:

Male: Peter Buckley

Female: Sofie Dabelko

Back to School News      Print News Article
Athens City School District  |  25 S. Plains Rd.  |  The Plains, OH 45780
Phone:740-797-4544  |  Fax:740-797-2486